Joie de vivre and the “lightness of being”.

Welcome to Lake Maggiore

“From palm trees to glaciers. The opposites in Ticino are a big attraction.

Sandy beaches and year-round snow, green hills and remote valleys. All within a stone's throw.”

«Stracciatella-fragola e una volta amarena-cioccolato, per favore»

We're standing at the window of our favourite gelateria on the shores of Lake Maggiore and looking forward to a little sweet temptation followed by an espresso. It's a warm afternoon in June. For the last few hours, we've been having a fantastic time stand-up paddle-boarding on the lake. You stand on a surfboard and paddle with a single-blade paddle – so instead of the wind in a sail propelling you along, it's your strength with the paddle. It's tremendous fun and we'll definitely be doing it again soon!

For years, we have kept being magically drawn back here, to sun-soaked Ticino. The Italian language, Mediterranean joie de vivre, enchanting scenery, combined with idyllic views of glittering Lake Maggiore and busy comings and goings on the lakeside promenade: they're all factors that give us a real feeling of "dolce far niente" – enjoying life to the full and, just for a while, simply "being". Our favourite place to stay is the Sunstar Hotel Brissago. We simply love this stylish hotel on the lakeside promenade. It's also the ideal starting point for exploring the local area.

«Dolce far niente» – enjoying life to the full and, just for a while, simply “being”»

The village of Brissago itself is worth a visit. It's in a splendid location between the shores of Lake Maggiore and the steep mountainsides, at the lowest point in Switzerland, 197 metres above sea level. The lower, oldest part of the village is grouped round the Renaissance church of San Pietro e Paolo, surrounded by centuries-old cypress trees. The path down to the lake leads you through narrow alleyways with picturesque twists and turns. You pass some impressively grand houses with gardens where orange and lemon trees and cedars flourish outdoors. What a lovely sight!

One of the most delightful places to visit in Ticino are the Brissago Islands, a little sub-tropical paradise in Lake Maggiore. The islands are covered in exotic plants and rise out of the deep blue of the lake like green specks. Because of their location, they enjoy an especially mild climate which enables this lush vegetation to grow. Magnificent rare trees, luxuriant bushes and ferns and sweet-smelling flowers hold
visitors spellbound. You reach the islands by shuttle boat.

Other places to visit include Locarno, Cannobio and Verbania with their well-preserved historic town centres. As you wander along the narrow alleyways, you come across numerous beautiful buildings dating back to the Middle Ages.

Lovely spacious squares with their street cafés and restaurants provide everything you could wish for in the way of food and drink. In Ascona there is a festival of street artists every year: when the artists and professional touring groups travel here from all over the world to delight visitors with their artistry on the promenade, the atmosphere is simply fantastic.

“In, on, beside and across Lake Maggiore, there's just so much to do.”

Another popular excursion for a very special shopping experience is to the weekly markets in the little Italian towns on the shores of Lake Maggiore. A really nice way to get there is by boat from Ascona or Locarno.

"Let your hair down on a sporting adventure."

What shall we do tomorrow? Try waterskiing, wakeboarding or windsurfing at high speed on the lake, or enjoy the soothing silence of nature from a pedalo or by going for a swim or a picnic? Another fun alternative would be a dive in Lake Maggiore... Or perhaps hitting a few balls on one of the amazing golf courses in the area?

For hikers and bikers there are 326 varied hiking tours and 168 MTB routes. If you're looking for (somewhat) more adrenalin-fuelled activities, head for the Adventure Park or have a go at paragliding, climbing, bungee jumping, canyoning, parachuting or fun rafting or go for a balloon ride or an excursion by canoe.

 

"The region of tasty temptations."

To discover the fascination of Ticino, all you have to do is spend an evening in a snug grotto, with a piece of local cheese and a glass of Merlot. More sophisticated culinary highlights are also a real treat. For this evening we have booked a cosy corner for ourselves in Caesar’s Grottino – what could be more enjoyable than to be treated with fresh seasonal products and a drop of fine wine in your own hotel?

Our top tip for music-lovers:

Come for the Moon & Stars Festival with our VIP package incl. transfers to Locarno.

11 to 20.07.2019

MOON & STARS 2019 >>

Joie de vivre et légèreté.

Bienvenue sur Lac Majeur

«Des palmiers aux glaciers: dans le Tessin, les opposés s'attirent.

Plages de sable et neiges éternelles, collines verdoyantes et vallées sauvages. Tout cohabite.»

«Dolce far niente» – PROFITER PLEINEMENT DE LA VIE ET, POUR UN MOMENT, SIMPLEMENT «SE SENTIR VIVANT»

À lui seul, le village de Brissago vaut une visite. Il rayonne entre les rives du lac Majeur et les pentes escarpées des montagnes avoisinantes, au point le plus bas de Suisse, à savoir à 197 mètres d'altitude. La partie la plus ancienne du village sert d'écrin à l'église Renaissance de San Pietro e Paolo, entourée de cyprès centenaires. Des ruelles étroites, sinueuses et pittoresques conduisent jusqu'au lac. Vous vous laisserez volontiers fasciner par ces grandes demeures impressionnantes dont les jardins accueillent citrons, oranges et cèdres. Une vue à couper le souffle!

Petit paradis subtropical du lac Majeur, les îles de Brissago constituent l’une des destinations les plus fascinantes du Tessin. Ces îles sont recouvertes de plantes subtropicales rares qui dessinent des taches vertes sur le bleu intense des eaux du lac. Grâce à leur situation géographique, elles bénéficient d'un climat particulièrement doux, propice à une végétation luxuriante. Les visiteurs ne peuvent être que fascinés par les arbres rares et majestueux, les fougères et arbustes luxuriants, et les fleurs odorantes. Les îles sont accessibles à bord du bateau navette.

«Stracciatella-fragola e una volta amarena-cioccolato, per favore»

Nous nous trouvons devant la vitrine de notre Gelateria préférée sur les rives du lac Majeur et attendons avec impatience de nous délecter d’une douceur et d’un expresso. Nous profitons d’un chaud après-midi de juin. Nous avons passé les dernières heures à nous détendre en faisant du paddle sur le lac. Debout sur une planche de surf, pagaie à la main, la puissance ici provient de la pagaie plutôt que du vent. Un moment de bonheur que nous réitérerons à la première occasion!

Depuis des années, le soleil du Tessin exerce sur nous un charme particulier: la culture italianisante, l'ambiance méditerranéenne, la nature merveilleuse, alliées aux eaux étincelantes du lac Majeur et à la douceur de vivre ressentie lors des promenades sur les berges. Grâce à tous ces atouts, nous touchons du doigt le fameux «dolce far niente», à savoir profiter pleinement de la vie et, pour un moment, simplement «se sentir vivant». L’hôtel Sunstar de Brissago a notre préférence. Nous avons été conquis par cet établissement élégant le long de la promenade du bord du lac. En outre, il constitue un parfait point de départ pour découvrir les environs.

Grâce à leurs centres-villes historiques bien préservés, Locarno, Cannobio et Verbania invitent à la visite. Une promenade dans ces ruelles étroites est l’occasion de découvrir de nombreux bâtiments intéressants datant du Moyen Âge.

Vastes et invitantes, les places et leurs cafés et restaurants permettent de profiter de la vie. Ascona accueille en outre chaque année le festival des artistes de rue: à cette occasion, des artistes et groupes professionnels du monde entier affluent et enchantent les rives du lac et les visiteurs, instaurant une ambiance tout à fait unique.

«VIVEZ PLEINEMENT LE LAC MAJEUR, À L’INTÉRIEUR COMME À L’EXTÉRIEUR.»

Autre visite incontournable: les marchés hebdomadaires, qui invitent à faire du shopping dans les villes italiennes situées sur les rives du lac Majeur. Le trajet qui y mène est sublime, à bord du bateau qui part d’Ascona ou de Locarno.

«DES ACTIVITÉS SPORTIVES POUR PROFITER ET SE DÉFOULER.»

Que voulons-nous faire demain? Faire du ski nautique, du wakeboard ou de la planche à voile sur le lac ou plutôt faire du pédalo, nager ou pique-niquer dans la quiétude apaisante de la nature? Pourquoi ne pas choisir une alternative amusante, à savoir faire de la plongée dans le lac Majeur? Ou peut-être frapper quelques balles sur l'un des magnifiques terrains de golf de la région?

Les randonneurs et cyclistes disposent quant à eux de 326 randonnées variées et de 168 circuits de VTT. Les amoureux de l'adrénaline auront leur dose dans les parcs d'aventure ou en s'adonnant au parapente, aux vols en montgolfière, à l'escalade sportive, au saut à l'élastique, au canyoning, au parachutisme, au rafting et au canoë-kayak.

«LA RÉGION DE TOUTES LES TENTATIONS CULINAIRES.»

Pour découvrir le fascinant Tessin, une soirée suffira afin d'explorer une magnifique grotte, de déguster une part de fromage et de se délecter d'un verre de Merlot. Les délices culinaires sont également un véritable ravissement. Pour ce soir, nous avons fait une réservation dans un petit coin intime du Caesar’s Grottino. Peut-on rêver mieux que de se faire chouchouter dans son hôtel avec des produits de saison frais et un bon vin?

Notre conseil culturel:

Rendez-vous au festival Moon & Stars avec notre forfait VIP, transfert à Locarno compris.

Voir l'offre