Ticino region

Switzerland's sunniest corner

As soon as travellers reach the southern end of the Gotthard Tunnel, they are in for a surprise. On the north side of the Alps, the sky may have been full of dark clouds, but on the southern side of the mountains the sun shines from a sky that is mostly blue, the climate is mild, palm trees line the roads and, in short, the Mediterranean influence is unmistakable.

In Switzerland’s sunniest corner, with over 2300 hours of sunshine a year, everything is just a bit different from anywhere else in Switzerland. If you are looking for typical Swiss dishes here, you'll be unlucky. Instead of "rösti", there is fine risotto, and when it comes to drinks, in the south of Switzerland the local red wine "Merlot del Ticino" is always at the top of the menu.

Allow yourself to be seduced by the whole experience of Ticino, the contrasts between the mountain and the plain, nature and culture, the past and the present …

Southern atmosphere and more

Beautiful valleys and gorges, the splendour of which will take your breath away, with one of the most impressive certainly being the Verzasca valley and the dam wall, made famous by Pierce Brosnan's bungee jump in the James Bond classic film "Goldeneye. No-one can fail to be impressed by the beauty of the wild and romantic scenery as they walk through the Maggia valley, and you'll find an astonishing array of flora and fauna here. Alpine tours that begin in the snow end in vast chestnut forests; while gentians bloom on the alpine meadows, along the lakeside promenades you can admire camellias.

If you don't feel like fine dining, window-shopping or bathing, Ticino also offers lots of options for cultural activities. There are museums full of ancient cultural treasures, and contemporary masterpieces such as the church of Santa Maria degli Angeli on Monte Tamaro and the Battista San Giovanni in Mogno, both designed by Switzerland's most famous architect, Mario Botta.

Steht Ihnen der Sinn mal nicht nach Schlemmen, Schaufensterbummeln oder Baden, das Tessin bietet auch vielfältige Möglichkeiten für kulturelle Aktivitäten. Seien dies Museen mit alten Kulturschätzen oder auch menschliche Kunstwerke wie die Kirche Santa Maria degli Angeli auf dem Monte Tamaro oder die Battista San Giovanni in Mogno, beides entworfen vom wohl berühmtesten Schweizer Architekten Mario Botta.

Ticino Ticket

Explore and experience

From the Gotthard mountain range to the gentle hills of Mendrisio, with the Ticino Ticket you can explore every corner of Switzerland's southernmost canton.

Guests at the Sunstar Hotel Brissago are provided with the Ticino Ticket when they check in, giving them free use of public transport in Ticino and other attractive discounts for travel on a number of mountain railway and boat services and other tourist attractions.

La région du Tessin

Le solarium de la Suisse

Le dépaysement débute dès l'extrémité sud du tunnel de Saint-Gothard. Si des nuages obscurcissent encore le nord des Alpes, le soleil inonde la face sud de la montagne dans un ciel quasiment toujours bleu. Le climat est doux. Les palmiers bordent la route départementale. En résumé: impossible d'ignorer ici l'influence de la Méditerranée.

Dans cette région surnommée le «solarium» de la Suisse, qui connaît plus de 2 300 heures d'ensoleillement par an, rien ne rappelle le reste du pays. Ne vous attendez pas ici à goûter des plats suisses typiques: en lieu et place des «Rösti», vous dégusterez ici un délicieux risotto. En ce qui concerne les boissons, la star de la carte est ici, dans le sud de la Suisse, le vin rouge du Tessin «Merlot del Ticino».

Laissez parler l'aventurier qui est en vous et partez à la découverte du Tessin, entre montagnes et pleines, nature et culture, passé et présent…

Ambiance du sud

Mais le Tessin ne vaut pas que par son ambiance méridionale! En effet, il accueille également des vallées et gorges impressionnantes, avec en points d'orgue le val Verzasca et le barrage réservoir rendu célèbre par le saut à l'élastique de Pierce Brosnan dans le James Bond «Goldeneye». Comment résister à la beauté et au romantisme sauvage des paysages de la vallée Maggia? Une randonnée permettra de partir à la rencontre d'une faune et d'une flore uniques. Les circuits en montagne débutent dans la neige et se terminent dans de vastes forêts de châtaigniers. Après avoir admiré les gentianes au beau milieu des alpages, vous vous émeillerez devant les camélias qui fleurissent le long des promenades au bord du lac.

 

Si vous n'êtes pas d'humeur à festoyer, à faire du lèche-vitrines ou à vous baigner, le Tessin vous propose maintes opportunités culturelles: musées abritant de véritables trésors mais aussi oeuvres architecturales, comme l'église Santa Maria degli Angeli du Monte Tamaro ou Battista San Giovanni à Mogno, que l'on doit dans les deux cas au plus célèbre architecte suisse Mario Botta.

Ticino Ticket

Expérimentez, découvrez, visitez

Du massif du Saint-Gothard aux douces collines du Mendrisiotto: avec le «Ticino Ticket», explorez le moindre recoin du canton le plus méridional de Suisse.

Les clients de l’hôtel Sunstar de Brissago se voient remettre le «Ticino Ticket» à leur arrivée afin de profiter gratuitement des transports en commun du Tessin. Ce ticket leur permet également de bénéficier d’autres réductions intéressantes sur des voyages en téléphérique, en bateau et sur d’autres attractions touristiques.